About me

Howdy,

My name is Steve Martinez.  I’m a United Methodist pastor serving in a small church in rural north Texas.  I’m finishing up a Master of Divinity at Asbury Theological Seminary.  I’ve been following Jesus for over five decades.

My purpose in writing this blog is to help make followers of Jesus Christ for the building up of the Kingdom of God.  Jesus said, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily, and follow me.” (Luke 9:23 NLT)

“To take up your cross daily” suggests a kind of commitment.  The cross was the emblem of suffering and shame to first century people living in the Roman Empire.  The person who carried the cross was a condemned criminal going to his death.  This saying of Jesus suggests that being a follower of Jesus Christ calls for a commitment.  The kind of commitment is more than just sitting in a church pew Sunday after Sunday.  This kind of commitment is more than saying a magical prayer like some kind of insurance policy.  It’s more than putting your dollar in the offering plate.  The commitment to be a follower of Jesus Christ calls for relationship that lasts a lifetime.

In the movie “The Way,” Martin Sheen plays an American ophthalmologist who goes to France following the death of his adult son, killed in the Pyrenees during a storm while walking the Camino de Santiago (the Way of St. James), a pilgrimage route to the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela in Galicia, Spain.  His purpose is to retrieve his son’s body. However, in a combination of grief and homage to his son, he decides to walk the ancient spiritual trail where his son died.  That’s what the Christian life is like:  a pilgrim journey.  It begins with a single step, but is a kind of journey.  Early Christians called the Christian faith “The Way.”

It reminds me of the cowboys riding the trail in the early days of Texas.  Friends, I’m just a fellow follower.  The only part of the trail I’m responsible for, is the little piece that I’m traveling on that we call life.

My life verse is Hebrews 12:1–2 (NLT) Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith.  Because of the joy awaiting him, he endured the cross, disregarding its shame. Now he is seated in the place of honor beside God’s throne.

My goal is to ride the trail that is set before me, wherever that takes me.  And I’m following Jesus, the pioneer who blazed the trail ahead of me.  Maybe we can help each other on trail like good pards should do.

I’m a wannabe cowboy, that’s why after a career as an officer in the United States Army, I decided to settle in Texas!  I wasn’t born here, but I got here as soon as I could!  I love both kinds of music:  country and western.  I also enjoy Contemporary Christian, Gospel and worship music.  I enjoy reading and walking around the countryside with my dog Rex.

I’m simply a follower of Jesus Christ who is trying to run the race!  So I usually finish my updates with the phrase:

“Run the Race!”

Steve

Leave a Reply

